Committees & Agenda Items

JCC: Head of States' Summit on Germany (HSSG)

Agenda items: The Decisions to be Taken Regarding the Sovereignty and Legitimacy of Germany/Germanies

Year: 1990

USG and President Chair: Dilanaz Güler

Study Guide: Click here


It's 1990, and the situation in the East and West Germanies is very complicated. The Berlin Wall fell only a year ago, and the region is very unstable. It seems like there might be a possible reunification. Currently, West Germany is economically much more powerful than East Germany, and the protests occurring in the region are mostly in favor of the West and against East Germany. Therefore, it seems like a possible reunification will lead to an ideologically Western new Germany. But of course, it is hard to foresee the future; the discussions in the committee might lead to unexpected conclusions. The future of Germany/Germanies is all up to the negotiation skills of the Heads of States.

Now, it is up to the Head of States to decide upon what they are going to do: Follow the path of history or draw a path of their own. The performance of the Head of States will shape the flow of the committee and the BHMUN'21 Team will shape their crises in accordance with the flow.

Country list:

1. President George Herbert Walker Bush – United States of America (USA)
2. President Mikhail Sergeyevich Gorbachev – Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR)
3. Prime Minister Margaret Hilda Thatcher – United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK)
4. President François Maurice Adrien Marie Mitterrand – French Republic
5. President Yang Shangkun – People’s Republic of China (PRC)
6. General Secretary of the Socialist Unity Party of Germany Egon Rudi Ernst Krenz - German Democratic Republic (East Germany)
7. President Richard Karl Freiherr von Weizsäcker - Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany)
8. President Wojciech Witold Jaruzelski - Republic of Poland
9. President Slobodan Milošević - Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia
10. President Václav Havel - Czechoslovakia
11. President Kurt Josef Waldheim – Republic of Austria
12. Federal Council Arnold Koller – Swiss Confederation
13. Prime Minister Poul Holmskov Schlüter – Kingdom of Denmark
14. Prime Minister Rudolphus Franciscus Marie – Kingdom of Netherlands
15. Prime Minister Wilfried Achiel Emma Martens - Kingdom of Belgium
16. President Ion Iliescu – Republic of Romania
17. President Turgut Özal – Republic of Turkey
18. Prime Minister Felipe González Márquez - Kingdom of Spain
19. President Petar Toshev Mladenov – People’s Republic of Bulgaria
20. President Árpád Göncz - Republic of Hungary
21. President Christos Sartzetakis - Hellenic Republic (Greece)
22. Prime Minister Jacques Louis Santer - Grand Duchy of Luxembourg
23. Prime Minister Gösta Ingvar Carlsson - Kingdom of Sweden